When you connect to this website, you send your IP address and sometimes some cookies. You may also give us personal identifying information, such as your name and contact information. All this data is used to securely provide you with the services that you request. We encourage you to review our privacy policy to make sure that you understand how your data is managed, and to contact us if you have any questions. View Privacy Policy

2015 Can-Am SCRABBLE Challenge

From NASPAWiki

You are viewing a condensed mobile version of this NASPA webpage.
Switch to full version.

The 2015 Can-Am SCRABBLE Challenge is the 12th in this series of transborder invitational championships.

2015 Can-Am SCRABBLE Challenge qualification system

Due to a lack of TWL entrants on the US team, the format of Can-Am has been changed from what had been originally announced. It will consist of a total of 14 entrants, seven each representing the United States and Canada. The lexicon used for all games will be CSW.

The event will be hosted by Canada on August 29-30, hosted by the Ottawa Scrabble Club in Ottawa, ON. It will be held at the office of iPolitics, a news-gathering organization located in Ottawa's Byward Market area.

The end of the qualifying period -- 28 June 2015 -- is also the deadline for registering.


All Canadian team members must be citizens or permanent residents of Canada. All U.S. team members must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents in the U.S. All participants must be NASPA members in good standing as of 29 August 2015.

Qualification Period

As in past years, the qualification period is from the beginning of September 2014 (the month in which the previous Challenge was contested) to about two months before this year's Can-Am, with dates adjusted slightly to include events played on the first and last weekends during that period: 1 September 2014 to 28 June 2015 (inclusive).

Participation Requirement

Players who wish to qualify must meet a minimum participation requirement of 24 NASPA rated tournament games played during the qualification period. The games must be played in the lexicon in which the player wishes to qualify.

Peak Rating

Players will qualify based on the higher of their peak NASPA rating (PR) in the lexicon of their choice. A player’s PR is defined as his or her highest rating that satisfies the following conditions: It is achieved at the end of a rated tournament played. It is not achieved before the tournament in which the participation requirement has been met.

If two or more players have the same PR, then the tie will be broken by each player's second highest PR eligible rating. If still tied then the tie will be broken by total number of games played (in any lexicon) during the QP. If still tied then the tie will be broken by rating achieved after any fully rated tournament in the QP. Drawing of lots will be necessary if there is still a tie.


Collins Scrabble Words will be the lexicon used for all games.

Current Standings

Below is a list of players who have expressed interest in registering for Can Am. CSW and OWL peak rating standings are updated frequently.

Registrants are listed below. Qualifiers are listed in bold.

  • US
    • Dave Wiegand (PR 2148)
    • Rob Robinsky (PR 2007)
    • Chris Lipe (PR 2006)
    • Geoff Thevenot (PR 1999)
    • Marty Gabriel (PR 1993)
    • Stefan Rau (PR 1968)
    • Matthew O'Connor (PR 1964)
    • Jason Keller (PR 1898) (Preferred Lexicon)
    • Steve Polatnick (PR 1841) (Preferred Lexicon)
  • Canada
    • Adam Logan (PR 2141)
    • Joel Wapnick (PR 2014)
    • Tony Leah (PR 1949)
    • Jackson Smylie (PR 1879)
    • Geoffrey Newman (PR 1860)
    • Jeremy Hildebrand (PR 1851)
    • Shan Abbasi (PR 1769)
    • Jason Ubeika (PR 1720)
    • Vince Castellano (PR 1705)
    • Andy Saunders (PR 1605)
    • Shauna Petrie (PR 1458)
    • Roger Cullman (23/24 games)


All alternates will be chosen on the basis of PR.


Dispute Resolution

In the event that a dispute concerning these rules should arise, it will be
 resolved by one of the following bodies as indicated: Canadian Committee 
(matters concerning qualification of Canadian players), International Committee US Subcomittee (matters concerning qualification of US players), International
 Committee (all other matters arising before the first day of the tournament), 
the Tournament Director (any matters arising on the days on which the 
tournament is contested). As always, rulings concerning disputes may
be appealed to the Advisory Board, which will (time permitting) hear 
them at its next scheduled monthly meeting.


The registration period has ended.

The standings will be announced and updated by John Chew.