When you connect to this website, you send your IP address and sometimes some cookies. You may also give us personal identifying information, such as your name and contact information. All this data is used to securely provide you with the services that you request. We encourage you to review our privacy policy to make sure that you understand how your data is managed, and to contact us if you have any questions. View Privacy Policy

Can-Am SCRABBLE Challenge

From NASPAWiki

You are viewing a condensed mobile version of this NASPA webpage.
Switch to full version.

The Can-Am Scrabble Challenge is the most prestigious team championship in North America, pitting the top players from the United States against the top players from Canada each year, in contention for the Challenge Trophy. It is also the largest regularly held tournament, all of whose games are recorded and posted online.

Event Statistics

Detailed statistics are available concerning team performance and individual performance at this event.

Next event

The 2020 Can-Am Scrabble Challenge, scheduled to take place in Montreal, QC, on May 9 to 10, 2020, was postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Recent events

Winners Losers
2021 Not held because of COVID-19 moratorium. Virtual Can-AM held on Woogles on March 26-27. Team USA won with record of 81-69.
May 9–10, 2020
Montreal, QC
Bernard Gotlieb
Not held because of COVID-19 moratorium.
2019 Not contested.
Dec. 15–16, 2018
Cambridge, MA
Bradley Whitmarsh
United States: Jason Keller, Avery Mojica, Tim Weiss, Winter, Sam Rosin, Karl Higby, Joey Mallick, César Del Solar, Ben Schoenbrun, Marty Gabriel Canada: Geoffrey Newman, Robin Pollock Daniel, Tony Leah, Joshua Sokol, Joshua Castellano, Fern Lindon, Michael Fagen, John Stardom, Jason Broersma, Andrew Golding, Morris Greenberg
2017 Not contested.
2016 Not contested.
Aug. 29–30, 2015
Ottawa, ON
Ross Brown
Canada: Jeremy Hildebrand, Adam Logan, Tony Leah, Joel Wapnick, Geoffrey Newman, Shan Abbasi, Jackson Smylie United States: Dave Wiegand, Chris Lipe, Geoff Thevenot, Marty Gabriel, Rob Robinsky, Stefan Rau, Matthew O'Connor
Sep. 13–14, 2014
Chicago, IL
Troy Thompson
United States: Jesse Day, Joe Edley, Chris Cree, Dave Wiegand, Doug Brockmeier, John OLaughlin, Geoff Thevenot Canada: Adam Logan, Robin Pollock Daniel, Matthew Tunnicliffe, Gabriel Gauthier-Shalom, Christopher Sykes, Jason Li, Jeremy Hildebrand
Sep. 21–22, 2013
Vancouver, BC
Miriam Gregory
United States: Chris Cree, Jesse Day, John OLaughlin, Dave Wiegand, Conrad Bassett-Bouchard, Rafi Stern, Cesar Del Solar Canada: Eric Tran, James Leong, Chris Williams, Max Panitch, Christopher Sykes, Zev Kaufman, Jeremy Hildebrand
Oct. 27–28, 2012
Millburn, NJ
Edward H Zurav
Canada: Robin Pollock Daniel, Zev Kaufman, Ross Brown, Adam Logan, Max Panitch, Matthew Tunnicliffe, Tony Leah United States: Joel Sherman, Chris Cree, Evans Clinchy, John OLaughlin, Scott Appel, Stefan Rau, Dave Wiegand
Mar. 19–20, 2011
Calgary AB
Siri Tillekeratne
United States (tied): Dave Wiegand, Marty Gabriel, Jerry Lerman, Chris Cree, Bradley Whitmarsh, Sam Kantimathi, Brian Bowman Canada (tied): Adam Logan, Eric Tran, Tony Leah, Dean Saldanha, Ron Hoekstra, Robin Pollock Daniel, Sinna Vijayakumar
2010 Not contested.
Aug. 29–30, 2009
Denver, CO
Dominick Mancine
United States: Nigel Peltier, Dave Wiegand, Joey Mallick, Kenji Matsumoto, Sam Kantimathi, Nathan Benedict, Jason Idalski Canada: Adam Logan, Christopher Sykes, Robin Pollock Daniel, Evan Berofsky, Max Panitch, Tony Leah, Chris Williams
Jun. 21–22, 2008
Toronto, ON
United States: John O'Laughlin, Rod MacNeil, Brian Cappelletto, Dave Wiegand, Nathan Benedict, Chris Cree, David Koenig Canada: Robin Pollock Daniel, Adam Logan, Joel Wapnick, David Boys, Evan Berofsky, Mark Schellenberg, Dean Saldanha
May 19–20, 2007
Dallas, TX
United States: Geoff Thevenot, Brian Cappelletto, Nathan Benedict, Dave Wiegand, Chris Cree, Robert Linn, Stefan Rau Canada: David Boys, Albert Hahn, Joel Wapnick, Craig Rowland, Tony Leah, Evan Berofsky, Robin Pollock Daniel
Jun. 16–17, 2006
Toronto, ON
John Chew
Canada: Adam Logan, Joel Wapnick, Robin Pollock Daniel, Lloyd Mills, Evan Berofsky, David Boys, Dean Saldanha United States: Dave Wiegand, John Luebkemann, Jerry Lerman, Jason Katz-Brown, Joey Mallick, Chris Cree, Tim Adamson
May 14–15, 2005
Chicago IL
Robert Denn
United States: Brian Cappelletto, Chris Cree, Dave Wiegand, Trey Wright, Joe Edley, Jim Kramer, Joel Sherman Canada: David Boys, Robin Pollock Daniel, Lloyd Mills, Ron Hoekstra, Joel Wapnick, Evan Berofsky, Shaun Goatcher
Mar. 6–7, 2004
Toronto, ON
John Chew
United States: Matt Graham, Joe Edley, Brian Cappelletto, Jim Kramer, Randy Greenspan, Jeremiah Mead, Dave Wiegand Canada: Evan Berofsky, Bernard Gotlieb, Lloyd Mills, Robin Pollock Daniel, David Boys, Joel Wapnick, Ron Hoekstra
2003 Not contested.
Nov. 16–17, 2002
Niagara Falls, ON
John Chew
Canada: Robin Pollock Daniel, Joel Wapnick, Adam Logan, Evan Berofsky, Zev Kaufman, David Boys United States: Dave Wiegand, Jim Kramer, Tim Adamson, Brian Cappelletto, Joel Sherman, Jeremiah Mead